In Brief: Book releases March [UK]

#InBrief brought to you by BREATHE NEWS brings you all the info in world with limited time. Every month Breathe News publishes InBrief articles on upcoming events in and around London from festivals, fashion weeks to books an art exhibitions. Stay tuned!

By Aurora Taunisio

Many of us, me included, have on their New Year Resolutions “I want to read more” and may even set a goal, a number of books they want to read by the end of the year. Here we will propose 5 books that will be released next month, to inspire and help you reach your magic number:

1. Who: Sarah McBride

What: Tomorrow Will Be Different, Love, Loss, and the Fight For Trans Equality
Release date: 6th March 2018
Publisher: Crown Archetype
Genre: Non-Fiction: Memoir/ Gender Equality

“Informative, heartbreaking, and profoundly empowering…”

This memoir follows the journey of Sarah McBride, from young student struggling with her identity and how to come-out to her family and the world, to being one of US’s most influential transgender activists. One story, of love and loss, that portrays the everyday struggles of the many who are openly transgender and a peek inside the LGBTQ’s fight for equality. With a foreword by Joe Biden.

About the Author:
Sarah McBride is a progressive activist and currently the National Press Secretary at the Human Rights Campaign, the nation’s largest LGBTQ civil rights organization. In 2016, Sarah made history when she became the first openly transgender person to address a major party convention.

2. Who: Abby Norman

What: Ask Me About My Uterus. A Quest to Make Doctors Believe in Women’s Pain 
Release date: 6th March 2018
Publisher: Nation Books
Genre: Non-Fiction: Memoir/ Feminism/ Medicine

“It’s time to refute the belief that being a woman is a pre-existing condition.”
The author narrates what she had to go through when her illness kept being misdiagnosed for a simple urinary infection, and thus quickly dismissed. Her conditions got worse and worse, reaching the point that she had to drop out of college, but instead of giving up, Norman read and read about medicine, until she was able to correctly diagnose her disease as endometriosis and finally be able to find a solution to her health problems.

The book shows how “women’s bodies have long been the battleground of a never-ending war for power, control, medical knowledge, and truth.”

About the Author:
Norman is a science writer and editor based in New England. Her work has been featured in both print and online publications including The Rumpus, Paste Magazine, The Independent, Medium, Seventeen, Upworthy, Cosmopolitan, Atlas Obscura, and others. She has been interviewed by Forbes, Glamour, The New York Times, Bustle, Huff Post Live as well as a number of podcasts and international radio programs”
 

3. Who: Tomi Adeyemi

What: Children of Blood and Bone 
Release date: 6th March 2018

Publisher: Pan MacMillan
Genre: Fiction / Fantasy/ Young Adults

First book for the Nigerian American writer, Tomi Adeyemi, and starting chapter of a trilogy. The story is set in a West-African inspired fantasy world filled with danger and magic and it’s about a girl, Zélie Adebola, who after her mother’s murder goes on a vengeance quest to fight the monarchy and give magic back to her people. Inside this fantasy world, Adeyemi brings up and deals with real world issues, such as prejudice and racism.

The book is already being developed into a movie for 20th Century Fox.

About the author: TOMI ADEYEMI is a Nigerian American writer and creative writing coach based in San Diego, California. After graduating from Harvard University with an honours degree in English literature, she studied West African mythology and culture in Salvador, Brazil.

4. Who: Shobha Rao

What: Girls Burn Brighter
Release Date: 06th March 2018
Publisher: MacMillan
Genre: Fiction

A tale of friendship between two girls who find comfort in one another when living in a dark reality. When fate set them apart, they are ready to do whatever it takes to not lose each other, even cross the world from an Indian village to Seattle.

About the Author:

Shobha Rao moved to the United States from India at the age of seven. She is the winner of the Katherine Anne Porter Prize in Fiction, and her story “Kavitha and Mustafa” was chosen by T.C. Boyle for inclusion in Best American Short Stories 2015. She is the author of the short story collection, AN UNRESTORED WOMAN, and the novel, GIRLS BURN BRIGHTER. She lives in San Francisco.

5. Who: Emily X.R. Pan

What: The Astonishing Color of After
Release Date: 20th March 2018
Publisher: McNally Jackson Books
Genre: Fiction / Young Adults

“A stunning, heartbreaking debut novel about grief, love, and family, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Celeste Ng”.

After losing her mother, Leigh Chen Sanders, strongly believes that she has turned into a bird, so, to find her, she embarks on a journey to Taiwan and meet her grandparents. The books mix reality with fantasy, past with present and tells a story of self-finding “trough family history, art, grief, and love”.

About the Author:

Emily X.R. Pan is the author of THE ASTONISHING COLOR OF AFTER, named by the Wall Street Journal as one of the top twelve books of the season. Emily currently lives in Brooklyn, New York, but was originally born in the Midwestern United States to immigrant parents from Taiwan. She received her MFA in fiction from NYU, where she was a Goldwater Fellow. She is a co-creator of FORESHADOW: A Serial YA Anthology, the founding editor-in-chief of Bodega Magazine, and a 2017 Artist-in-Residence at Djerassi.

Twitter: https://twitter.com/exrpan

Do you know any other books to be released in March? Tell us in the comment!

Stay tuned for next month’s InBrief Books run down!!

About Breathe News 262 Articles
Breathe News provides reactionary commentary on various aspects of contemporary culture, focusing on the misdeeds of political figures, the actions of governments, and global economic inequalities. We address socio-political issues through the use of multimedia content to tell a story from all angles. Breathe News aims to implement and promote change by informing our readers about a given problem and appealing to people's sense of justice. An informative, entertaining news site propelling social impact during turbulent times.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply